Skip to content

DappsAtlas index · 14,224 dApps

DappsAtlas
Four logo

Payments · Review

Active

Four Review 2026: A Buy Now, Pay Later App, Not a Crypto Project

Four is a US buy now, pay later app that issues a one-time virtual card and splits purchases into four payments every two weeks. It suits shoppers who want short-term instalments, but fee terms are not stated on the homepage.

By the DappsAtlas editorial team · Updated

DappsAtlas score

5.8/10

Mixed

Our verdict on Four

5.8/10

Four suits US shoppers who want to split online purchases into four biweekly payments without a credit check, and who are comfortable shopping through the retailers listed in its app. Its strengths are a simple repayment structure, one-time virtual cards and payment reminders. The main caveat is transparency: the homepage does not publish fees or late-payment terms, and some customer reviews report penalty charges and order problems. Read the User Agreement before buying, and note that it is not a crypto product.

Score breakdown

How Four scores

Security
n/a
Ease of use
7.0/10
Fees
n/a
Features
5.5/10

Scores run from 0 to 10 and are based only on facts we could verify. Where information was missing we mark the score n/a rather than guess.

What is Four?

Four is a buy now, pay later app operated by Four Technologies, Inc. It lets US shoppers split purchases from retailers listed in the app into four payments, made every two weeks.

This is a fiat consumer finance product, not a crypto or DeFi project. Searches for the name often turn up unrelated tokens called FOUR or FORM, which have no connection to this app.

The pitch is simple: get approved quickly, receive a one-time virtual card, shop in the app and pay off the order in four steps. Four says there is no credit check and no credit impact, and it offers Four+ as an upgrade for exclusive stores and offers.

The homepage does not publish fees, limits or the team behind the company. Customer feedback is mixed: some users praise the budgeting and easy checkout, while others on third-party pages report problems with orders and penalty charges.

How Four works

Four is a retailer marketplace combined with an instalment payment service. You open the app, pick a participating store, and receive a one-time virtual card to pay for the purchase. Instead of paying in full, you repay in four instalments, one every two weeks.

The app tracks your orders and shows what is due and when, with reminders before each payment. Four says it does not run a credit check and that using the service does not affect your credit. It also says users must meet additional eligibility requirements, so approval is not guaranteed.

Four+ is an optional paid-style upgrade that adds exclusive stores and offers. The company also notes that loans in California are made or arranged under a California Finance Lenders Law license.

6 features

Key features

01

Four biweekly payments

Purchases are divided into four instalments, one due every two weeks, with a clear schedule shown in the app.

02

One-time virtual card

After signup you receive a single-use virtual card to pay at retailers inside the Four app.

03

No credit check

Four states that it runs no credit check and has no credit impact when you sign up and shop.

04

In-app retailer shopping

The app lists hundreds of retailers and lets you manage orders and track payments in one place.

05

Payment reminders

Notifications warn you before each payment is due so you can stay on schedule and on budget.

06

Four+ upgrade

An upgraded tier that adds exclusive stores, special offers and more ways to shop in the app.

Pros and cons

What we like

  • Clear four-payment structure with a biweekly schedule
  • No credit check or credit impact, according to Four
  • Single app for browsing retailers, tracking orders and managing payments
  • Reminders before each payment due date
  • Quick signup through the iOS and Android apps
  • Optional Four+ tier for exclusive stores and offers

Watch out for

  • Available only to US residents aged 18 or older, and not in New Mexico
  • Shopping happens inside the Four app and its retailer list, not at any store you choose
  • The homepage does not publish fees, late-payment charges or spending limits
  • Customer reviews on third-party pages report frustration with order processing and unexpected penalty charges
  • One user post describes an approved limit that showed zero available at stores
  • Not a crypto product: no wallet, token or blockchain component

Four fees

Four does not publish fee details on its homepage. It does not state late-payment charges, any subscription price for Four+, or how spending limits are set. Users would find those terms in the User Agreement and inside the app before placing an order.

Third-party customer reviews mention unexpected penalty charges, although the exact amounts are not given. Treat the cost of missing a payment as an open question until you have read the agreement.

Is Four safe?

Four is a custodial consumer app, so the main risks are financial and contractual rather than smart-contract related. The homepage lists a User Agreement, Privacy Policy and Acceptable Use Policy, and states that loans in California are made or arranged under a California Finance Lenders Law license. No audit or security certification is published on the homepage.

The main practical risk is cost and reliability. Third-party customer reviews report order-processing frustrations and unexpected penalty charges, and one user post describes an approved limit that showed no available balance at stores. Only commit to instalments you can repay on time, and read the terms on late payments first.

7 steps

How to get started with Four

  1. 1

    Confirm you are 18 or older, live in the US, and are not in New Mexico.

  2. 2

    Download the Four app from the App Store or Google Play.

  3. 3

    Sign up and complete the eligibility checks the app requests.

  4. 4

    Check your spending limit and the list of available stores in the app.

  5. 5

    Read the User Agreement, especially the sections on missed payments and fees.

  6. 6

    Browse a retailer in the app, get your one-time virtual card and check out.

  7. 7

    Turn on payment reminders and track the four-payment schedule.

Who Four is for

Four is for US residents aged 18 or older who want short-term instalments on online purchases and are happy to shop within the app's retailer list. It is not for people outside the US or in New Mexico, and not for anyone looking for a crypto, DeFi or token-based product.

Four FAQs

What is Four?

Four is a buy now, pay later app. You shop at retailers listed in the app, use a one-time virtual card at checkout and repay the purchase in four payments made every two weeks.

Does Four do a credit check?

The homepage says Four does not run a credit check and that using it has no credit impact. Eligibility rules still apply, and the company says users must meet additional requirements beyond age and residency.

Who can use Four?

Users must be 18 or older and a US resident, and meet additional eligibility requirements. The service is not available in New Mexico.

Does Four charge fees or interest?

The homepage does not list fees, late charges or limits. Check the User Agreement and the app before ordering. Some customer reviews on third-party pages mention penalty charges, so read the terms on missed payments closely.

Is Four a crypto project or token?

No. Four is a fiat payments app and uses no blockchain. Tokens named FOUR or FORM that appear in crypto searches belong to unrelated projects, so do not confuse them with this service.

What is Four+?

Four+ is an optional upgrade that the homepage says gives access to exclusive stores, special offers and more ways to shop in the app. Its price is not stated on the homepage.

Compare

Four alternatives

All alternatives
Wise logo

Wise

Payments

Score 8.0 out of 10

Wise is an international account and money transfer service for sending, holding and spending money in many currencies, not a crypto product.

Fungies logo

Fungies

Payments

Score 7.8 out of 10

Fungies is a Merchant of Record platform that handles payments, checkout and VAT or sales tax for sellers of SaaS, games and digital products.

Stablelink

Payments

Score 5.5 out of 10

StableLink is an Etherlink payment platform for merchants and freelancers to request USDC through invoices and shareable payment links.

Etherlink
Nekolive logo

Nekolive

Payments

Score 6.5 out of 10

Nekolive is a creator-support platform for tips, memberships, crowdfunding, commissions, and livestream tools.

Everup

Payments

Score 5.0 out of 10

Everup is a consumer app for buying digital gift cards with cashback, plus games and prize-linked rewards.

Goldsand logo

Goldsand

Payments

Score 2.5 out of 10

Goldsand is a mobile savings app offering a Sharia-compliant, interest-free alternative to bank savings accounts, for Muslim users.

Same category

More Payments dApps

Payments rankings
Sablier Lockup logoScore 8.0 out of 10

Sablier Lockup is an audited onchain protocol for token vesting, payroll, grants and airdrops, aimed at DAOs and businesses across many chains.

TVL $1.76M−8.2%Ethereum · Polygon · Arbitrum +25
Streamflow logo

Streamflow

Payments

Score 7.4 out of 10

Streamflow is a Solana-focused platform for on-chain token vesting, airdrops, staking and locks, aimed at token teams, DAOs and developers.

TVL $10.3M−7.7%Solana · Aptos · BNB Chain +3
LlamaPay logo

LlamaPay

Payments

Score 7.4 out of 10

LlamaPay is a multi-chain protocol that streams crypto payments by the second for DAOs, teams and contractors paid in stablecoins.

TVL $2.07M+5.2%BNB Chain · Arbitrum · Ethereum +19
Telcoin logo

Telcoin

Payments

Score 7.4 out of 10

Telcoin is a mobile wallet, remittance service and Nebraska-chartered digital asset bank built around the TEL token and multi-currency stablecoins.

TVL $0Polygon
Superfluid logo

Superfluid

Payments

Score 7.3 out of 10

Superfluid is a money streaming protocol that sends tokens by the second across ten chains, aimed at DAOs, builders and users of streaming apps.

TVL $5.38M−2.6%Optimism · Base · Polygon +7
Sablier Flow logo

Sablier Flow

Payments

Score 7.2 out of 10

Sablier Flow is an onchain payment tool that streams tokens at a constant per-second rate, with senders topping up over time, for DAOs and businesses.

TVL $485K−11.9%Ethereum · Arbitrum · Base +23

Guides

Guides about Four

All guides
  • NFT

    Four-Digit ENS Names: How the NFT Trading Market Works

    Numeric.eth names from 0000 to 9999 trade as a collectible set, and their prices can jump when attention returns. Here is how the market works, what moves it, and how to avoid its common traps.

  • Presale and ICO

    Best Crypto Presales to Research in 2026

    A presale name is not a recommendation. Use this shortlist of research leads, then verify each project’s purpose, sale terms, token controls and risks before considering any contribution.

  • DeFi

    BNB Chain DeFi Apps and the $5 Billion Claim: What to Check

    A claim that a simple BNB Chain DeFi app generates $5 billion is hard to verify and often mixes up volume, deposits and revenue. This guide explains what such figures usually mean and how to check them before you trust any app.

  • NFT

    Mocaverse NFT Collection Explained: Mocas, Holder Perks and Trading

    Mocaverse is a membership NFT collection from Animoca Brands, made up of 8,888 characters called Mocas. This guide explains what the collection is, how it was minted, what holding a Moca has meant, and how to check its current status before you buy or sell.

  • NFT

    OnChainMonkey Floor Price Up 183%: How to Verify It

    A claimed 183% rise in the OnChainMonkey floor price during a weak market is easy to repeat and hard to verify. This guide explains what floor price measures, why big percentage moves can mislead, and how to check the data yourself before drawing conclusions.

  • Token

    REVV Token Explained: What It Is and How to Verify It

    REVV is a token name tied to a gaming and motorsport project, but the name alone does not tell you which token you are looking at. This guide explains how to identify the right REVV, verify its contract, and check supply, liquidity and token locks before you trade or hold it.

How we checked

Sources

  1. 1.coinmarketcap.com/cmc-ai/binaryx-new/price-prediction/

Last updated . Spotted an error? Tell us and we will correct it.