Skip to content

DappsAtlas index · 14,224 dApps

DappsAtlas

Comparison · Updated

Makina vs Upshift: Vaults, chains and risks (2026)

Makina is the more focused choice for curated Machines and stated user custody. Upshift offers a much larger vault menu, more listed chains and substantially higher TVL, but both rely on outside strategists and publish no fee schedule.

Illustration for Makina vs Upshift: Vaults, chains and risks (2026)
Makina logo

Makina

Onchain Capital Allocator

Score 7.0 out of 10

TVL $38.8M · 2 chains

Upshift logo

Upshift

Onchain Capital Allocator

Score 7.3 out of 10

TVL $461M · 14 chains

Side by side

Makina vs Upshift at a glance

Makina and Upshift compared
 MakinaUpshift
CategoryOnchain capital allocator with Machines managed by OperatorsOnchain vault platform powered by August, with third-party strategists
ChainsEthereum, Base14 listed: Ethereum, Stellar, Flare, Hyperliquid, Monad, Solana, Avalanche, Base, Citrea, Sui, Plasma, BNB Chain, Mezo and Ink
TVLAbout $38.98MAbout $463.86M
ProductsCurated Machines for USD, ETH, BTC and tokenized-stock yield38 vaults for stablecoins, BTC, ETH and XRP; HYPE is also listed as a vault asset
Strategy modelOperators set strategy mandates and risk parameters, described as enforced onchainNamed outside strategists run individual vaults; Cash, Core and Enhanced tiers help sort by target return level
TokenNo protocol token listedNo protocol token listed
FeesFee schedule not publishedFee schedule not published
AuditsTwo audits listed; auditors and reports are not namedTwo audits listed; auditors, dates and findings are not named
CustodyProject says users keep custody of their assetsCustody setup is not stated
Return visibilityMachines show 30-day live APY; stock-yield APYs are shown at 3.7%–4.8%. Returns are not guaranteed.Vaults show APY; some yields are target or indicative, not necessarily realised
Standout featuresMakinaVM execution, cross-chain deployment and optional Nexus Mutual-powered coverage38-vault menu, points and rewards, and white-label products for businesses

How Makina and Upshift differ

Makina packages strategies into Machines, which allocate capital across protocols and chains using Calibers. Operators set a mandate and risk parameters that Makina says are enforced onchain. It is aimed at depositors who want managed yield while keeping custody of their assets, and who are comfortable taking on Operator and strategy risk.

Upshift is a vault platform powered by August. It offers 38 vaults across stablecoins, BTC, ETH and XRP, with individual strategists running them. Cash, Core and Enhanced labels let users sort by target return level; Core is described as under 8%, and Enhanced as 8% or more. Upshift also has a much larger listed TVL. In short, Makina presents a focused Machine model, while Upshift emphasizes a broad vault menu and strategist choice.

Assets, chains and yield options

Makina lists Ethereum and Base. Its Machines include USD, ETH and BTC strategies, as well as Base Machines tied to tokenized stocks such as AAPL, MSFT and NVDA. The stock-yield APYs shown are in the 3.7%–4.8% range; these are displayed values, not guaranteed returns. Makina also describes cross-chain deployment through a single deposit experience.

Upshift lists 14 chains, including Ethereum, Stellar, Flare, Hyperliquid, Monad, Solana and Base. Its vault pages show details such as deposit token, chain, APY, TVL, cap and strategist. It also features a tokenized T-bill vault with indicative 3%–4% yield, but that product requires contacting the project rather than making a simple self-serve deposit. Chain availability is not the same as every vault being open on every network, so check the specific product before committing funds.

Fees and advertised returns

Neither Makina nor Upshift publishes a fee schedule. Makina’s Machine APY displays do not provide management or performance fee details, and Upshift’s vault listings show APY, TVL and caps rather than management, performance or withdrawal fees. Do not compare headline yields as if they were net returns until you have checked the terms for the specific product.

Network gas costs also apply to deposits and withdrawals on either platform. Those costs can differ by chain and transaction, but no amounts are published here. For Makina, check the Machine page and Operator documentation; for Upshift, check the vault page and docs. If a fee or withdrawal condition is unclear, treat it as an unanswered cost rather than assuming it is zero.

Safety, custody and strategy risk

Both platforms have two audits listed, but neither names the auditors or provides the audit reports in the information described here. That count does not establish that every contract or strategy has been reviewed. Makina also carries smart-contract risk, Operator and strategy risk, protocol risk and cross-chain execution risk. Its homepage mentions Nexus Mutual-powered coverage, but public terms, limits and exclusions are not given.

Upshift vaults depend on smart contracts and outside strategists, and some strategies may involve regulated products such as tokenized T-bills, adding issuer and counterparty risk. Upshift does not state its licensing or custody terms here. Neither platform’s short public record should be treated as proof of safety, and no public incident information rules out future losses. Before depositing, review the particular strategy, redemption terms, audit scope and any coverage conditions.

Which platform should you choose?

Choose Makina if you want a more focused set of Operator-managed Machines, value its stated custody model, or are interested in its cross-chain execution and tokenized-stock yield options on Base. Its listed chain range is limited to Ethereum and Base, its track record is short, and returns still depend on each Operator and strategy. The displayed APYs are not guarantees.

Choose Upshift if you want more vault and chain choices, a broader range of supported assets, or visible vault details such as strategist, deposit cap and target tier. Its listed TVL is much higher, but that does not remove vault-specific risk or make an advertised APY reliable. For either platform, the missing fee schedules and incomplete audit details make checking the exact vault or Machine essential. Neither is a fit for someone seeking a guaranteed return or a published all-in cost.

Verdict: Makina or Upshift?

Choose Makina if you want a focused set of Operator-managed Machines and value its stated model in which depositors keep custody. It also suits users interested in its Base tokenized-stock yield products, provided they understand the added asset and strategy risks. Choose Upshift if breadth matters more: it lists 38 vaults across 14 chains, supports a wider range of assets and shows vault-level details such as strategist and deposit caps. Upshift’s higher TVL is not a safety guarantee. Both platforms rely on external strategy management, list two audits without naming auditors, and leave fees unpublished, so check each product’s terms before depositing.

Frequently asked questions

Which platform has more TVL?

Upshift lists about $464 million in TVL, compared with about $39 million for Makina. TVL indicates the amount shown as deposited, not the safety or likely return of a vault.

Which platform supports more chains?

Upshift lists 14 chains, while Makina lists Ethereum and Base. Check the specific vault or Machine before choosing, since an asset and strategy may not be available on every network.

Are fees published for Makina or Upshift?

Neither publishes a fee schedule. Check the specific vault or Machine and its documentation for any management, performance or withdrawal fees; network gas costs also apply.

Which platform is safer?

Both list two audits, but neither names the auditors or publishes audit details in the information described here. Deposits also carry smart-contract and strategy risks, so an audit count alone is not a safety guarantee.