Skip to content

DappsAtlas index · 14,224 dApps

DappsAtlas

Comparison · Updated

Firelight vs Lunos: Cover or a compliance-first chain? (2026)

Firelight is the clearer choice for staking FXRP against defined protocol risks. Lunos is a project in transition: its new compliance-focused chain has an ambitious direction, but little public usage data.

Illustration for Firelight vs Lunos: Cover or a compliance-first chain? (2026)
Firelight logo

Firelight

Insurance

Score 7.0 out of 10

TVL $60.7M · 1 chains

Lunos logo

Lunos

Insurance

Score 5.0 out of 10

TVL $39.8K · 3 chains

Side by side

Firelight vs Lunos at a glance

Firelight and Lunos compared
 FirelightLunos
CategoryDeFi cover for defined protocol failuresLegacy insurance products; pivoting to a compliance-first chain
ChainsFlareEthereum, BNB Chain and Kava listed for legacy products; new chain uses Syscoin’s zk-rollup stack
TVLAbout $68.3 millionAbout $40,200
TokenNo native token listedUNO, described as the new chain’s gas token
FeesFee rates, cover pricing and withdrawal timing not publishedFee amounts and legacy premiums not published
Security and auditsTwo audits listed; auditors and findings not named. Slashing risk applies.Two audits listed for legacy contracts; auditors and findings not named. New-chain security claims are not independently verified.
Ease of useEase-of-use score: 7; aimed at FXRP stakers and cover-market operatorsEase-of-use score not published; KYC/AML features may not suit users seeking permissionless access
Standout featureNon-custodial FXRP vaults; stakers share coverage fees and take slashing riskPrivacy and compliance features designed into a chain built on Syscoin’s zk-rollup stack
Best forUsers seeking defined cover markets and willing to accept slashing riskEnterprise or regulated-use audiences interested in the chain direction and willing to assess an early-stage transition
StatusActiveActive, but in strategic transition

How Firelight and Lunos differ

Firelight and Lunos are both associated with insurance, but they now serve different purposes. Firelight is a cover protocol on Flare: users stake FXRP in vaults that back protection against defined protocol failures. Coverage terms, prices and capacity are registered onchain, and a Risk Consortium reviews incidents against published criteria. Stakers earn a share of coverage fees, while accepting the risk that their capital can be slashed to fund validated payouts.

Lunos began as an onchain insurance protocol and is now presenting itself as a compliance-first chain built on Syscoin’s zk-rollup stack. Its stated focus is privacy-sensitive and enterprise applications, with features such as KYC, AML and selective disclosure. It also links to coverage terms from its earlier insurance product. This transition makes the comparison less like-for-like: Firelight has a specific, active staking-and-cover model, while Lunos’s new chain is early and its post-pivot products and supported chains are unclear.

Risk, audits and protection

Firelight’s standout feature is its direct link between staked FXRP and cover for defined protocol failures. Vault terms and coverage criteria help describe what is in scope, but they do not eliminate risk. If the Risk Consortium validates a covered incident, staked capital funds the payout. The consortium’s judgement is part of the claims process, and losses outside a market’s stated coverage are not protected. Firelight’s roughly $68.3 million in TVL is substantially higher than Lunos’s roughly $40,200, but TVL does not establish that a protocol is safe or that cover will pay in every situation.

Lunos has two audits listed for its legacy contracts, but the auditors and findings are not named. Its new chain’s security depends on claims about Syscoin and Bitcoin anchoring, as well as compliance features that are not independently verified in the published details here. Both projects leave important security questions for users to investigate. Firelight’s two listed audits also lack named auditors and findings, and its short track record means there is limited history of payouts.

Fees and practical costs

Neither project publishes a complete fee schedule. Firelight says stakers receive a proportional share of coverage fees paid by program operators, but it does not state fee rates, cover prices or any protocol cut. Withdrawal timing is also not published. Before staking, check the vault’s current terms, the coverage market’s scope and the app’s withdrawal conditions; normal Flare network gas costs also apply.

Lunos says UNO pays transaction fees and network services on its new chain, but it does not publish fee amounts. Premiums and claim terms for its legacy insurance products are not listed in the general fee details; users need to consult the relevant product terms and app. Lunos describes the new chain as offering low-cost execution, but gives no published figures to compare. In both cases, do not treat a yield, cost or withdrawal schedule as established unless the current product terms state it clearly.

Which should you choose?

Choose Firelight if you specifically want to stake FXRP in a cover vault on Flare, understand which protocol failures are covered and accept the possibility of slashing. Its mechanism and audience are more clearly defined, and its TVL is much higher. That does not remove smart-contract, claims or principal risk, and fee rates and withdrawal timing remain unpublished.

Choose Lunos if you are evaluating a compliance-oriented chain for regulated, privacy-sensitive or enterprise use cases, rather than looking for a mature insurance product. Its stated direction includes selective disclosure and native compliance features, with UNO intended for chain fees. However, the pivot was announced in March 2026, production usage for the new chain is not documented, and public details about the transition remain limited. If you want established insurance terms and a larger pool of deposited capital, Firelight is the more direct fit. If Lunos’s chain vision matters more, assess its current status and legal implications before relying on it.

Verdict: Firelight or Lunos?

Pick Firelight if you want a defined FXRP staking-and-cover product on Flare and are prepared for slashing risk. Its model is more directly described, and its TVL is much higher, though fees, withdrawal timing and payout history remain important unknowns. Pick Lunos if you are assessing a compliance-focused chain for enterprise or regulated applications, not because you need a clearly established insurance product today. Its pivot and new-chain usage remain early, and the status of legacy products is unclear. For either project, review current terms and legal requirements before committing funds.

Frequently asked questions

Which has more TVL?

Firelight lists roughly $68.3 million in TVL, compared with roughly $40,200 for Lunos. Lunos’s figure relates to its legacy insurance products; public production-usage data for its new chain is limited.

Do Firelight and Lunos have tokens?

Firelight has no native token listed. Lunos names UNO as the gas token for its new chain, while the utility and role of the token may change as the project transitions.

What are the main risks?

Firelight stakers can lose capital through slashing if the Risk Consortium validates a covered incident. Lunos’s legacy coverage products have their own terms and capital risks, and its new chain’s security claims are not independently verified in the published details here.

Are fees published?

Neither publishes a fee schedule. Firelight stakers receive a share of coverage fees, but rates and withdrawal timing are not stated; Lunos says UNO pays chain fees, without publishing amounts.