Skip to content

DappsAtlas index · 14,224 dApps

DappsAtlas

Comparison · Updated

Kelp vs Mantle Restaking: Risk or redemptions? (2026)

Kelp offers rsETH and much higher TVL, but its April 2026 bridge exploit is a major risk. Mantle Restaking stands out for its tiered redemption route and reserve reporting.

Illustration for Kelp vs Mantle Restaking: Risk or redemptions? (2026)
Kelp logo

Kelp

Liquid Restaking

Score 5.5 out of 10

TVL $844M · 1 chains

Mantle Restaking logo

Mantle Restaking

Liquid Restaking

Score 7.3 out of 10

TVL $35.9M · 1 chains

Side by side

Kelp vs Mantle Restaking at a glance

Kelp and Mantle Restaking compared
 KelpMantle Restaking
Category and productLiquid restaking; issues rsETHLiquid staking and restaking; issues mETH
ChainsEthereumEthereum
TVLAbout $910MAbout $39M
TokenKERNEL is listed; token utility details are not publicNo governance token listed
FeesFee structure not stated; Ethereum gas and possible swap costs also applyFee breakdown not published; Ethereum gas and third-party venue costs may apply
SecurityTwo audits listed; bug bounty up to $250K; approximately $290M bridge exploit reported in April 2026Two audits listed; project says over $1M invested in audits and security; no slashing incidents reported to date
Ease of useETH and major liquid staking tokens in; rsETH outETH in; mETH out, with small redemptions through an instant buffer and larger ones through Aave
Standout featurersETH has broad DeFi integrations; Kelp announced it would stop bridging on 20 networksProof of Reserves page and tiered redemption route, including Aave-backed liquidity
AuditsTwo audits listedTwo audits listed; audit firms and reports are not named publicly
Best forETH and major LST holders who want rsETH and accept the added bridge and incident riskETH stakers who value a defined redemption flow and reserve reporting

How Kelp and Mantle Restaking differ

Both protocols operate on Ethereum and offer liquid tokens tied to staked ETH, but their products differ. Kelp focuses on liquid restaking: users deposit ETH or major liquid staking tokens and receive rsETH. Mantle Restaking, branded as mETH Protocol, combines liquid staking and restaking, with ETH deposits receiving mETH, a value-accruing receipt token.

Kelp has the much larger listed TVL, about $910 million compared with Mantle’s roughly $39 million. That size does not settle the choice, especially given Kelp’s April 2026 bridge exploit. Kelp reports two audits and a bug bounty, but the exploit and the resulting uncertainty around rsETH integrations are central considerations. Mantle’s smaller footprint comes with a more explicit redemption design and a Proof of Reserves page. Choose based on the risks and mechanics you can assess, not TVL alone.

Tokens, integrations and redemptions

Kelp’s key product is rsETH, which represents a restaked position and is described as integrated across lending protocols, optimisers, DEXs, CEXs and wallets. That breadth may be useful, but Kelp’s homepage liquidity claim predates the April 2026 incident. Aave froze rsETH markets after the exploit, and Kelp announced it would stop rsETH bridging on 20 networks. Treat older integration and liquidity claims cautiously.

Mantle’s mETH has a different practical feature: tiered redemptions. The project says small withdrawals use an Instant Buffer pool and take about one to five minutes; larger withdrawals route through Aave’s ETH market and take about 24 hours. The larger route depends on Aave liquidity, so it is not a guarantee of instant access. Mantle also says about 30% of its protocol is allocated to Aave, versus 0% for other LSTs. These are project figures, and redemption conditions can apply.

Fees and yield

Neither protocol publishes a fee breakdown. Kelp displays APR and APY information and a calculator, but fee details and live values are not stated. Mantle quotes a net protocol APY of about 5.00%, but does not disclose the fee rate. That yield figure can change, so it should not be treated as a guaranteed return.

For both, Ethereum gas costs may apply when depositing or withdrawing. Kelp users may also face DEX fees or slippage if they exit by swapping rsETH rather than withdrawing. Mantle users may pay fees or spreads at third-party venues if they use mETH in other protocols. Check each project’s app and documentation for current costs and withdrawal conditions before committing funds. The information here does not establish which route will be cheaper for a particular amount or transaction.

Security and risks

Kelp’s two listed audits and bug bounty of up to $250,000 are relevant, but they do not remove risk. The April 18, 2026 exploit of its rsETH cross-chain bridge reportedly drained about $290 million. Responsibility is disputed: Kelp blamed LayerZero default settings, while others have pointed to Kelp’s configuration. The incident demonstrates that bridge and integration risks matter in addition to risks in the core contracts. Follow Kelp’s official communications for recovery or compensation details; these are not described publicly.

Mantle also has two audits listed, and its homepage says it has invested over $1 million in audits and security programs. It reports zero slashing incidents to date and links to reserve, collateral and validator information. However, audit firms and reports are not named publicly. Risks include smart-contract bugs, slashing, mETH trading below the value of its underlying ETH, and reliance on Aave for larger redemptions. Neither protocol is risk-free.

Which one should you choose?

Mantle Restaking is the more defensible choice for an ETH staker who prioritises a published redemption path and reserve reporting. Its instant buffer and Aave-backed route explain how different withdrawal sizes are handled, although larger exits depend on Aave liquidity. Its lower TVL and additional DeFi dependencies still warrant caution.

Kelp may appeal to users seeking rsETH, a product with a larger listed TVL and a history of broad DeFi integrations. But the April 2026 bridge exploit changes the decision: the loss, disputed responsibility and announced reduction in bridging are substantial drawbacks. Do not treat past integration breadth or older liquidity claims as proof that rsETH remains equally usable after the incident. If you cannot accept uncertainty around Kelp’s bridge and recovery situation, Mantle is the clearer fit between these two. For either protocol, review current terms and risks before depositing.

Verdict: Kelp or Mantle Restaking?

Choose Mantle Restaking if you want a defined redemption process, a Proof of Reserves page and visible collateral and validator reporting. Its larger withdrawals depend on Aave, and its TVL is much lower than Kelp’s. Choose Kelp only if rsETH and its integrations suit your needs and you are prepared to assess the unresolved consequences of the April 2026 bridge exploit. The exploit, disputed responsibility and planned halt to bridging on 20 networks outweigh Kelp’s larger TVL for anyone prioritising a clearer risk profile.

Frequently asked questions

Which has the better withdrawal and redemption setup?

Mantle Restaking has the clearer published redemption design: small withdrawals use an instant buffer, while larger ones go through Aave. Kelp’s reported bridge exploit and announced plans to stop bridging on 20 networks make its cross-chain position a major concern.

Which protocol has lower fees?

Neither project publishes a fee breakdown. Mantle quotes a net protocol APY of about 5.00%, but does not state its fee rate; Kelp’s fee structure is also not stated.

Which protocol appears safer?

Both have two audits listed. Kelp also lists a bug bounty of up to $250,000, but its April 2026 bridge exploit is a serious risk factor; Mantle reports no slashing incidents to date and provides a Proof of Reserves page.

Do Kelp or Mantle Restaking have a token?

Kelp lists KERNEL, but its utility details are not public. Mantle Restaking has no governance token listed, and the project does not describe its governance and upgrade controls in detail.