Comparison · Updated
Firelight vs Native: DeFi staking or brokered cover? (2026)
Firelight is a Flare protocol where FXRP stakers back defined cover and risk slashing. Native brokers tailored insurance for businesses and institutions, including Lloyd's-backed and onchain options.

Firelight
Insurance
TVL $60.7M · 1 chains
Side by side
Firelight vs Native at a glance
| Firelight | Native | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | DeFi cover protocol | Specialist insurance broker |
| Chains | Flare | Not published |
| TVL | About $68.3 million | Not published |
| Token | No native token listed | Not published |
| Fees | Fee rates and cover pricing not published | Premiums and commissions not published; quoted by the team |
| Security and audits | Two audits listed; auditors and findings not named publicly | Audits not published; onchain provider details are also not published |
| Ease of use | Ease-of-use score: 7/10 | Ease-of-use score: 6.5/10; arranged through a sales conversation |
| Cover model | FXRP stakers supply capital to vaults and may be slashed for validated claims | Arranges Lloyd's-backed cover, onchain cover, or a blend |
| Best for | Builders, vault operators, and FXRP stakers | Teams and institutions, not individual DeFi users |
| Standout feature | Onchain cover terms and defined criteria for incident validation | Broad crypto and business insurance, including custom onchain facilities |
How Firelight and Native differ
Firelight and Native address insurance from different sides. Firelight is a DeFi cover protocol on Flare: FXRP stakers deposit into vaults, and their capital backs cover for defined protocol failures. If the Risk Consortium validates a covered incident against the published criteria, staked capital is slashed to fund payouts. Stakers receive a share of coverage fees paid by program operators.
Native is an insurance broker for crypto and emerging-technology businesses. It arranges Lloyd's-backed policies, onchain cover, or a combination tailored to a client's needs. Its offerings include crypto-specific risks such as smart-contract exploits and slashing, as well as conventional business coverage. Native's policies are arranged through a sales conversation, not an instant checkout.
The practical distinction is who participates and how cover is funded: Firelight asks stakers to supply risk-bearing capital, while Native helps clients find and structure insurance.
Users and coverage
Firelight is the closer fit if you want to participate in a Flare-based cover market by staking FXRP. It reports about $68.3 million in TVL, but that figure is not the same as a guarantee that every risk or claim is covered. The scope, price, and capacity of each market are registered onchain, and cover applies only to the defined failures listed there.
Native is aimed at organizations that need insurance for business or crypto risks. It covers a broader range of needs, from custody and cyber to directors and officers, professional indemnity, property, AI compute, and mining. It also says it can build onchain facilities for risks that traditional models do not support. Native cites a $25 million onchain facility for a decentralised AI network and $100 million of Lloyd's-backed cover arranged for a Bitcoin custody model.
Choose based on the need: staking into defined cover markets, or seeking a tailored policy for an organization.
Fees and pricing
Neither project publishes a complete price schedule. Firelight does not state fee rates, cover pricing, or any protocol cut. Stakers are described as receiving a share of fees paid by program operators, but the amount and current yield are not published. Withdrawal timing is also not stated, so check the current terms before depositing FXRP. Flare network gas costs apply as well.
Native does not publish premiums, commissions, or minimum cover sizes. The cost depends on the risk, policy limits, insurer, or onchain capacity used, and the team provides a quote on request. Native says one onchain facility cost under $2 to process and transact; that is a transaction cost for that facility, not the price of insurance.
For either option, ask for the full cost and terms. Native clients should request a breakdown of premium and broker compensation. Firelight users should confirm cover pricing, fees, and withdrawal conditions in the app or documentation.
Safety and claims
Firelight lists two audits, but the auditors and findings are not named publicly. Its vaults are described as non-custodial, though that does not remove smart-contract risk. The central risk for stakers is slashing: capital can fund a payout after the Risk Consortium validates an incident. That process applies published criteria but includes human judgment, and the protocol has a short track record. Read the coverage terms closely; losses outside their stated scope are not protected.
Native's safety depends on the policy and the insurer or onchain capacity behind it. It points to Lloyd's-backed cover for regulated products, while onchain cover brings smart-contract and capacity risks. Native has not published audits, regulatory registration numbers, or claims history on its homepage. Before buying, ask for policy wording, exclusions, limits, claims procedures, and the identity of the party carrying the risk.
Neither model removes the need to understand exactly what is covered and who decides or pays a claim.
Which one should you choose?
Choose Firelight if you understand FXRP staking, want exposure to coverage-fee income, and can accept that a validated claim may reduce your staked capital. It is the more direct option for someone seeking to participate in a Flare cover vault, but its fee rates, withdrawal timing, and payout track record are not published.
Choose Native if you represent a business or institution seeking a policy across crypto, technology, or conventional risks. It offers access to Lloyd's-backed, onchain, or blended cover, but you will need to speak with its team to obtain pricing and policy details. Ask who underwrites the cover and how claims are handled, especially for onchain arrangements.
In short, Firelight is for risk-bearing DeFi stakers; Native is for organizations arranging insurance. They are not interchangeable products.
Verdict: Firelight or Native?
Pick Firelight if you want to stake FXRP into defined Flare cover markets and accept that validated claims can slash your capital. Its onchain terms and fee-sharing model are suited to DeFi participants, but fees, withdrawal timing, and payout history are not published. Pick Native if you represent a business or institution seeking tailored insurance, including Lloyd's-backed, onchain, or blended cover. It offers broader policy types, but pricing requires a quote and you should verify the underwriter, exclusions, and claims process.
Frequently asked questions
What is the main difference between Firelight and Native?
Firelight is built around FXRP vaults whose staked capital backs cover for defined protocol failures. Native arranges policies for businesses and institutions, using Lloyd's-backed insurance, onchain capacity, or a blend.
Which is better for an individual DeFi user?
Firelight may suit people willing to stake FXRP and accept that validated claims can slash their capital. Native is aimed at teams and institutions seeking tailored insurance, rather than individual DeFi users.
Are fees or premiums published?
Firelight does not publish fee rates, cover pricing, or any protocol cut. Native does not publish premiums or commissions either; its team quotes costs based on the risk, cover limits, and capacity used.
Which project has published audits?
Firelight lists two audits, but the auditors and findings are not named publicly. Native has not published audits on its homepage, and onchain policy safety depends on the relevant smart contracts and capacity providers.
Which one has published TVL and chain information?
Firelight is active on Flare and reports about $68.3 million in TVL. Native's chain coverage and TVL are not published.